Herbert W. Armstrong College Holds 22nd Commencement

OKLAHOMA—Herbert W. Armstrong College held its 22nd commencement exercises on May 14, honoring 18 students graduating from its two-year diploma program, and 14 students from its four-year program. The students represent seven countries and seven American states.

The ceremony was part of a weekend of activities, including a brunch that morning for the graduates and their families. Guests, friends and family members watched as the graduates entered the theater of Armstrong Auditorium to selections from “Crown Imperial,” performed by the Armstrong Youth Orchestra, conducted by music instructor Mark Jenkins. Assistant dean of students Brad Macdonald gave the invocation and welcomed guests. Then graduating senior and student body president Izaak Lorenz began his student address by asking all the mothers in the audience to stand. His speech revolved around their contributions to the lives of the graduates, tying in the graduation to ceremony to the fact that it was also Mother’s Day.

The combined Armstrong choruses performed “May the Road Rise to Meet You,” composed and conducted by Mark Jenkins. Then the Armstrong Youth Orchestra joined for “Largest Audience Possible,” composed and conducted by Ryan Malone.

Following the Mother’s Day theme in his commencement address, dean of students Stephen Flurry discussed how, in a world of family dysfunction, college graduates should focus on building strong, stable families.

Mr. Flurry presented Armstrong Achievement Awards to four graduating seniors: Brandi Smith, Simeon Zekic, Zoe Hilliker and Izaak Lorenz. Then the 18 sophomores lined up to receive their diplomas from Mr. Flurry. Four seniors, Zekic, Eden McKee, Jacob Haddad and Mikayla Klusenberg, graduated at the college’s sister campus at Edstone Hall in England, receiving their diplomas from Edstone dean of students Wayne Turgeon as the audience in Edmond viewed a live video stream. Finally, the Edmond senior class assembled to receive their diplomas. With all 14 officially graduated, Mr. Flurry invited the crowd to join him in “saluting our future,” the Herbert W. Armstrong College senior class of 2023.

After congratulations from hundreds of family members, friends, congregation members and ministers, the graduates celebrated that evening with dinners and parties. The Edmond campus continued with activities to celebrate the Imperial Academy graduates, many of which will begin attending Armstrong College in the fall.

2023 Herbert W. Armstrong College Sophomores

Jacob Dylan Boren*

Kansas Grace Creager

James William Gill

Jacob Julian Grellet

Ellie Sage Hilliker***

Michaela Ann Jones

Nicole Olivia Jones

Ropafadzo Gladys Kankuni

Victoria Anne Locher***

Britney Louise Lorenz

Savannah Brooke Macdonald

Raphaella Victoria Rehberg

Abigail Hope Shellenberg

Nickolas Theodore Tolis**

Peter Corstiaan Wouterus van Halteren**

Andrew james Watts

Zachary Charles Williams

Ella Mackenzie Wilson**

2023 Herbert W. Armstrong College Seniors

Emily Elaine Milano Gill

Jacob Les Haddad

Zoe Nicole Hilliker***

Mikayla Rose Klusenberg

Izaak Jacob Mark Lorenz*

Kumbirai Kyle Matemadombo**

Eden Ann KcKee

Josephine Emmanuel Osuala

Brandi Lashae Smith*

Christopher Robin Stiles

Jared Bryan Trucks

Elam Charles Lawrence Wilson

Hannah Elizabeth Chutter Worrell**

Mihailo Simeon Zekic**

*With Distinction

**With High Distinction

***With Highest Distinction