College Completes 20th Academic Year

EDMOND—On May 9, Herbert W. Armstrong College completed its 20th academic year in Edmond, Oklahoma, and its sixth in Edstone, England, graduating 14 seniors and 21 sophomores from six countries and 12 American states.

Hundreds of guests assembled at Armstrong Auditorium for the afternoon ceremony, dozens watched from the television studio at the campus in Edstone, and hundreds more streamed the ceremony live online. Faculty, seniors and sophomores walked down the aisles to their seats to William Walton’s “Crown Imperial,” performed by the Armstrong Youth Orchestra, conducted by college and Imperial Academy music instructor Mark Jenkins.

Assistant dean of students Brad Macdonald welcomed guests and led the invocation, after which student body president Parker Campbell delivered the student address, comparing the Armstrong experience to a sea voyage and exhorting graduates not to remain in harbor and to trust God as their Captain.

The Armstrong College Choral Union and Armstrong Youth Orchestra performed “May the Road Rise to Meet You,” composed by Jenkins, and “Fight the Good Fight,” composed by college music director Ryan Malone. Then college president and Edmond dean of students Stephen Flurry delivered the commencement address. He focused on the real, absolute truth as opposed to notions of relative truth and narratives, asking why the world has so much knowledge yet simultaneously so many problems, emphasizing that modern institutions do not teach the truth. He told the graduates that true education never stops.

Mr. Flurry also presented the annual Herbert W. Armstrong Achievement Award to three seniors: Marianna Bala’a, from Mississippi; Parker Campbell, from South Carolina; and Audrey Locher, from Edmond, Oklahoma.

The 18 Edmond sophomores, announced by Mr. Macdonald, then received their diplomas from Mr. Flurry. Then the audience watched the video transmission of three sophomores in Edstone receiving their diplomas from Edstone dean Wayne Turgeon. Mr. Macdonald then announced the 14 Edmond seniors, who walked the stage and received their diplomas. He presented them to the audience as “our future, the senior class of 2021.”


Westley Turner Campbell

Emily Elaine Milano Gill

Jacob Les Haddad

Zoe Nicole Hilliker***

Shelley Ann Jones*

Mikayla Rose Klusenberg

Ian William Lexa

Izaak Jacob Mark Lorenz*

Kumbirai Kyle Matemadombo***

Eden Ann McKee

Josephine Emmanuel Osuala

Tailor Lee Santiago-Braga

Jordan Blake Saranga***

Brandi Lashae Smith**

Christopher Robin Styles

Joshua Michael Taylor***

Jared Bryan Trucks

Micah Ray Turgeon***

Elam Charles Lawrence Wilson

Hannah Elizabeth Worrell***

Mihailo Simeon Zekic**


Marianna Dawn Bala’a**

Matthew Alan Barreiro

Parker Reid Campbell**

Daniel Joseph Cocomise

Ruth Alexis Concepcion Cruz

Cami Chantel Eagle**

Victor Alexis Granados Melgar

Leilani Sereima King

Erin Elizabeth Lexa

Audrey Stacia Locher***

Emma Danielle Moore**

Isaiah Daniel Morrison

Heidi Kim Linh B. Rodis*

Logan Dale Yoder

*With Distinction

**With High Distinction

***With Highest Distinction